Have You Seen The Email Of The Year?

Surviving the Tropical Floods!
SURVIVAL

I was sent an email this morning by my wife. I opened the attachment and it was a Power Point presentation.

The images were harrowing, inspiring and very emotional.

The message of the presentation, is that poverty, degradation and inequality, is a fact of life for over two-thirds of the world’s population, in the 21st Century. In the era of the Ipad, Google and the wonders of the technological age, this is a crime against humanity and God.

I was so moved by this presentation, that I uploaded it to YouTube. If you have two minutes too spare, I implore you to see it. It is located at www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hu7wHDuowe4.

I was born in 1956, in Liverpool. At the time, the BBC, televised a weekly programme, entitled ‘Tomorrows World‘. I, like most children, growing up in the 1950’s, envisaged the 21st Century to be something akin to ‘The Jetsons‘ or ‘Star Trek‘. In fact, Television companies in the UK, in this period, would never broadcast images, this harrowing, before the watershed of 9pm, in Britain.

It is ironic therefore, that technology is responsible for the capture, broadcasting and sharing of such images. It is even more inspiring, that someone was motivated enough, to create this presentation and to circulate it. We must applaud these people and encourage everyone to take concerted action, to eradicate this blight on the human race.

The presentation is full of powerful images. They all have an incredible story to tell. I chose this image as it is a tale of survival and of two men making sure that the child is saved. It is a story of sacrifice and the indomitable spirit of man, to survive at all costs.

One poignant image, is that of a group of people crossing a make shift bridge. I travel to work in the air-conditioned comfort of the 7.30am from Raynes Park to Waterloo. The only inconvenience, is that I have to stand. The next time I am being buffeted by some rude, lewd, spotty teenager, jumping on behind me, I will remember this image.

Another image of the old lady carrying bundles of wood was inspiring. It reminded me of the photographs of old people in Okinawa. Okinawans’, live very long lives. One of the reasons is their diet of oily fish. Another reason, is that they work all their lives. Many of them grow vegetables or like this lady, collect goods and sell them in markets. It is this sense of purpose and social interaction, that extends their lives. Do you see what I mean, when I said, I found the images inspirational.

If you found the video as poignant as I do, forward it on. It may find someone in a position to help. It may provoke some thought. It may highlight the fact that giving and sharing is far more satisfying than taking all the time.

If  you have any comments, I would be delighted to hear from you.

My name is Steve Howard. You have been reading the Digital Circus.

Leave a Reply

