Use A Negative To Say Something Positive!

Who - Groucho Marx
Who Are You Going To Believe?

In 1991, I built a 10,000 square foot Photographic Laboratory in North Sydney. At auction in Sydney, I purchased an old 10″ x 8″, Classic C41 Dip & Dunk processor for $500.

It was a Leviathan and we had to ship it from Canberra to the Photo-Lab in North Sydney and construct a light tight room for it. The results were well worth the effort. The 10″ x 8″ Negatives we generated from this old master were flawless.

Talk to any of the old hand printing craftsman and they will all tell you, you cannot beat a great negative. In fact old negatives are much in demand these days for use in traditional Photo Hand Print making.

I love Negatives as a piece of Photographic Art. I also love the modern use of proverbs, metaphors and affirmations in posters. I used to produce these in the 1980’s for corporations. Many high powered corporations wanted to incorporate a ‘Mission Statement‘ or motivate their sales teams with a powerful statement.

As a piece of whimsy, I have created a lovely Lambda, Fuji Print as a Negative, overlaid with one of my favourite sayings by Groucho Marx. Groucho is my favourite philosopher as well as being one of the funniest people to have ever lived.

If you have any examples of affirmational, Negative posters, I would love to hear from you.

My name is Steve Howard. You have been reading the Digital Circus.

Leave a Reply

